[MAGIC-E7] How to use the E7
Contents
- 1. Marking Process
- 2. Ring Marking
- 3. Photo Marking
- 4. Cutting Process
- 5. Pen Marking
- 6. Curved Materials Marking
- 7. Layout of text in a circle
- 8. Layout of text in a curve
- 9. Text Change
- 10. Template Creation
- 11. Saving as design sample
- 12. Auto change of serial number
- 13. Loading and editing image
- 14. Import a file SVG format
1. Marking Process
1. Measure the size and height of your material.

2. Place your material at the center of the clamp.

3. Select a template that matches the shape or type of your material from the template category. Enter the size of your material then click “OK” button.

| Maintain original size | The actual size of the registered template is loaded; not the size entered. |
| Locate to original position |
The template is loaded to where it was initially created. If this option is selected, the template is loaded at the center of work area. |
| Fit page size to template | The size of the page is adjusted to the size of the template. |
4. The selected template will appear on the screen. Click
[Text input] button then click at any target location to enter text.

5. Once the text is completed, click
[Selection] button on toolbar. Enable the object selection mode to select the entered text then modify the size, font and thickness of the object. Lastly, click
[Center in page] button to position the object at the center of the work area.

- Upon completing the design, click
Hatching toolpath.
✽Click
icon on the top right of the screen for immediate marking without creating a Toolpath.

7. Select an engraving option and tool from “Toolpath” window and if necessary, designate gap and depth before clicking “Create Toolpath” button.

![]() |
![]() |
| -Scan line toolpath- | -Hatching toolpath- |
*For better engraving quality on large areas (e.g., large fonts or images) use “Scan line toolpath.” Although this may require more time to process.
8. Toolpath object is created.

- Click
button.

- Once “NC Output” window appears, specify how the engraving material is measured then click “Start Engraving” button.

- Once the tool is positioned to the center of the material and the laser pointer turns on, use the direction key buttons to position the laser pointer to the engraving area. The area that the laser pointer points to is where the actual engraving takes place.
![]() |
Press the direction key buttons to move the laser pointer to the left, top, right and bottom areas of the engraving area. (Long press to move the laser pointer farther). Check if the laser pointer points to the area on the material where you want to engrave. If the laser pointer is out of range, adjust the position using the direction keys.
The laser pointer automatically points to the area where marking takes place (based on the target location on the work area). When the direction key is pressed, the laser pointer moves to the area to be marked (left, top, right or bottom) from its target location. If the marking area needs to be adjusted to the left, press key to move the pointer to the left.
![]() |
12. After positioning the laser pointer and determining the location of the engraving area, long-press and hold
button (for more than 3 seconds) until it beeps to confirm that the machine is ready to engrave then close the cover.
2. Ring Marking
- Measure the width and diameter of the ring.
![]() |
![]() |
| Outer marking – Ring outside size | Inner marking – Ring inside size |
- Insert the ring into the chuck finger (as shown below) then tighten the rotation clamp to firmly secure the ring.
![]() |
![]() |
| Ring outer engraving | Ring inner engraving |
Object position

Engraving direction
The direction of the characters to be engraved on the ring is shown in the picture below. Check the target location (where you want your characters to be engraved on the ring) then firmly secure the ring.

- Double-click “Ring” template in the object property window. When Insert Rotary Object Template window appears, select one marking option: outside or inside. Then enter the width and diameter of the ring and click “OK.”

- The template will appear at the center of the screen. Select
Text Input on the toolbar then click at any target area on the work area to enter the text to mark.

- After entering the text, click
Selection on the toolbar to enter the object selection mode. Select the text, then edit its size and font. To place the text at the center of the work area, click
Center in Page button.

What is Handle for adjusting gaps between characters?
Handle for adjusting gaps between characters is a function that adjusts gaps between characters by dragging characters to target positions.
- Upon completing the design, click
Hatching Toolpath button.
✽Click
button on the top right of the screen for immediate marking without creating a Toolpath.

- The “Hatching Toolpath” window will appear (as shown in the picture below). Select the tool, toolpath gap and depth then click “Create Toolpath” button.

- The “Toolpath” object is created with red lines marked or filled on each text (as shown in the picture below). Scroll up the mouse wheel to zoom in the image of the toolpath object to check the line style. You may delete the toolpath object and create a new one if the toolpath is not your preferred style.

9. After selecting your preferred toolpath, click
button.

- Once “NC Output” window appears, specify how the engraving material is measured then click “Start Engraving” button.

| Surface height | Measure material height.![]() |
| Multi point measurement | Measure material height by dividing the whole material into several parts (up to 5 times) |
| Outside | Engrave on the ring’s ring outer diameter. |
| Inside | Engrave on the ring’s ring inner diameter. |
![]() |
Place the material on the flat chuck finger. |
![]() |
Place the material on the round chuck finger |
11. Once the tool is positioned to the center of the material and the laser pointer turns on, use the direction key buttons to position the laser pointer to the engraving area. The area that the laser pointer points to is where the actual engraving takes place.
![]() |
Press the direction key buttons to move the laser pointer to the left, top, right and bottom areas of the engraving area. (Long press to move the laser pointer farther). Check if the laser pointer points to the area on the material where you want to engrave. If the laser pointer is out of range, adjust the position using the direction keys. The laser pointer automatically points to the area where the engraving takes place (based on the target location on the work area). When the direction key is pressed, the laser pointer moves to the area to be engraved (left, top, right or bottom) from its target location. If the engraving area needs to be adjusted to the left, press |
- After positioning the laser pointer and determining the location of the engraving area, long-press and hold
button (for more than 3 seconds) until it beeps to confirm that the machine is ready to engrave then close the cover.
3. Photo Marking
What is Photo Marking?
Photo marking is a marking method that marks the shade of an image with dots.
1. Place the material on the clamp.
- Click
Image to import an image for marking.

- Adjust the size and location of the image.

- Clipping Mask feature enables clipping or cropping of the target image. Drag the mouse over the image then create a shape.

- Drag and hold the mouse to select the target image or select Menu → Edit → Select All.

6. Then select Menu → Transform → Make Clipping Mask. Only the cropped image (target image) remains.

The original image is saved; not deleted or cropped out.
- Click
Photo Impact Engraving Toolpath button.
✽Click
button on the top right of the screen for immediate marking without creating a Toolpath.

- Adjust marking options in photo marking option window.

✽ The black area is not engraved; only the cropped image.
During photo marking process, the brighter area (white area) of an image is not visibly expressed with dots unlike the darker area where dots are highly visible with higher marking quality. Therefore, it is recommended to adjust the brightness of an image to darker. Normally, a dot ratio of 10-20% provides the best marking quality for a portrait. Take note that the image’s optimal conditions vary depending on the brightness of background of the image. Check image preview then adjust the image’s brightness and dot ratio. If ‘image adjustment’ is confusing, click “Recommend the best” button to automatically adjust the image.
- Click “OK” button to create a toolpath for photo marking. Set the marking option then click
Engraver button.

During marking process, the white area of the image appears with dots. The image result of the toolpath is shown as a negative image.
- Once the tool is positioned to the center of the material and the laser pointer turns on, use the direction key buttons to position the laser pointer to the engraving area. The area that the laser pointer points to is where the actual engraving takes place.
![]() |
Press the direction key buttons to move the laser pointer to the left, top, right and bottom areas of the engraving area. (Long press to move the laser pointer farther). Check if the laser pointer points to the area on the material where you want to engrave. If the laser pointer is out of range, adjust the position using the direction keys.
The laser pointer automatically points to the area where marking takes place (based on the target location on the work area). When the direction key is pressed, the laser pointer moves to the area to be marked (left, top, right or bottom) from its target location. If the marking area needs to be adjusted to the left, press key to move the pointer to the left.
![]() |
- After positioning the laser pointer and determining the location of the engraving area, long-press and hold
button (for more than 3 seconds) until it beeps to confirm that the machine is ready to engrave then close the cover.
4. Cutting Process
※Cutting clamp and nose are sold separately.
Protect your hands, wrists and fingers. Do not let any of your body parts or any foreign objects get caught in the machine during operation. The tools of the machine are sharp, and may cause serious physical injury.
Please wear safety glasses during engraving process for safety. Debris like metal chips and dusts may cause serious eye injury if they get stuck in the eye.
Set up the machine before cutting
1. Lock the tension by turning the pressure lock clockwise.
![]() |
| When using endmill/ V-cutter etc |
2. Turn the cutting nose counterclockwise to align it to the tool hole.

3. Replace the tool with a cutting tool.

4. Put a flat plate (like a ruler) under the cutting nose (as shown in the picture below) then unscrew the tool fixing screw with a 2mm wrench. Lower the tool until it touches the plate then secure the tool in place.

5. Press on the keypad to enter
[MENU] mode. Select a [1. Tool Change] then press
button to measure tool height.
6. Set the cutting clamp then secure the material to cut on the clamp.

Program
- Click
Text Input button on the toolbar to enter the text input mode then click at any target area to enter text.
- After entering the text, click
Selection on the toolbar to select the text and designate the font.

Adjust the text according to the desired size. Use the object handle (shown in the picture below) or go to object property window.

- Drag with the mouse the text gap adjustment handle (shown in the picture below) to narrow or widen the gap between the characters.

If the gap in between each character is partially adjusted, click
Text Input button then drag the mouse to select the characters. Drag the text gap adjustment handle with the mouse then adjust the gap.

- Insert a ring design that matches your characters from the design sample section.
*Design sample: Click
or Menu → View → Design sample.

- Double-click the chosen ring design then designate its location on the work area.

6. Copy and Paste the ring design to reveal a guideline for the location of the ring. Adjust the location, then left-click with the mouse.

- Select all the objects, then right-click to see the menu then select Group.

✽Select all objects: Drag the objects with the mouse or select Menu → Edit → Select All.
- Upon completing the design, click
Cut-Out Toolpath.
- Once the “Cut-Out” window appears (as seen in the figure below), select the tool to be used for cutting. Enter the material’s thickness and other options then click “Create Toolpath.”

| Option | Depth | Designate the thickness for cutting. The material may be in a slanted or bent form. If so, the depth should be at 0.1-0.2 mm deeper than the thickness of material for perfect cutting. This option value is disabled for input because the depth is automatically calculated by “Plate Thickness”, “Extra Cut Depth” option. |
| Z pitch | Designate the depth when cutting the engraving depth little by little. This option is necessary when cutting thick materials with a thin tool.![]() |
|
| Plate thick | Enter the measured thickness of the material. Cut depth and Z pitch value is automatically calculated by this value. | |
| Extra cut depth | Material might usually be bent or slanted. Thus, the cut depth should be at 0.1-0.2 mm deeper than the thickness of the material for perfect cutting. This designates extra depth for perfect cutting. | |
| Z pitch count | Z pitch value is automatically calculated by this value. | |
| Speed | XY speed | Designate a speed at which XY axis will move during the cutting. |
| Z speed | Designate a speed at which Z axis will move during the cutting. | |
| Move option | Z clearance | This designates the height to be applied for the clearance between the tool and the surface of material when moving to another engraving location.
When moving to another engraving location, it is necessary to lift Z axis to prevent the tool from coming in contact with the material surface before moving.
|
| Z dwell time | This designates no-load rotation time of end-mill and V-cutter after they reach the target depth and before moving to X, Y axis point. It is possible to damage the tool as rotation speed reduces while engraving. Set up the Z-dwell time to recover the full rotation speed before engraving. ✽Recommended time: 0.5 ~1 second. |
- “Toolpath” is created.

- After creating the toolpath, set the laser marking option then click
Engraver button.
- Once “NC Output” window appears, specify how the engraving material is measured then click “Start Engraving” button.

| Surface Height | Measure material height only.![]() |
| Horizontal Slope | Measure material’s horizontal slope.![]() |
| Vertical Slope | Measure material’s vertical slope.![]() |
| Surface Slope | Measure material’s top, bottom, left and right slope.![]() |
| Skip | Skips material’s height measurement and allows the use of the previous height measurement data if the material has not been removed from the clamp during the previous engraving process. |
| Adjust Engraving Position | Select this option to re-adjust the engraving location. The laser pointer then adjusts to the engraving location before engraving. If this option is not selected, engraving process will initialize immediately. |
| Move to vise automatically | Move automatically to the flat or rotating vise based on the selected template. |
- Once the tool is positioned to the center of the material and the laser pointer turns on, use the direction key buttons to position the laser pointer to the engraving area. The area that the laser pointer points to is where the actual engraving takes place.
![]() |
Press the direction key buttons to move the laser pointer to the left, top, right and bottom areas of the engraving area. (Long press to move the laser pointer farther). Check if the laser pointer points to the area on the material where you want to engrave. If the laser pointer is out of range, adjust the position using the direction keys.
The laser pointer automatically points to the area where marking takes place (based on the target location on the work area). When the direction key is pressed, the laser pointer moves to the area to be marked (left, top, right or bottom) from its target location. If the marking area needs to be adjusted to the left, press key to move the pointer to the left.
![]() |
- After positioning the laser pointer and determining the location of the engraving area, long-press and hold
button (for more than 3 seconds) until it beeps to confirm that the machine is ready to engrave then close the cover.
Drilling
5. Pen Marking

-Tailstock is sold separately.
1. Measure the width and diameter of the pen.

2. Secure the pen to the engraver by using a pen jig.

The pen jig may differ depending on model types. The instructions are almost the same for all types of engravers regardless of the type of jig used. Be sure to follow the instructions below to determine the correct positioning of the pen when engraving.

3. Select a pen template in the object property window. Enter the width and diameter of the pen then click “OK” button.

4. Once the template appears, click
Text Input] on the toolbar. Click the work area then enter text.

5. After entering the text, click
[Selection] on the toolbar to enter object selection mode, then adjust the size and font of the text. Click
[Center in Page] button to place the object at the center of the work area.

6. Upon completing the design, click
[Hatching Tool path].
✽Click
button on the top right of the screen for immediate marking without creating a Toolpath.

7. Select engraving option and tool from the “Hatching Toolpath” window. If necessary, designate the hatching gap and depth then click “Create Toolpath” button.

8. “Toolpath” object is created.

9. Click
button.

10. Once “NC Output” window appears, specify how the engraving material is measured then click “Start Engraving” button.

11. Once the tool is positioned to the center of the material and the laser pointer turns on, use the direction key buttons to position the laser pointer to the engraving area. The area that the laser pointer points to is where the actual engraving takes place.
![]() |
Press the direction key buttons to move the laser pointer to the left, top, right and bottom areas of the engraving area. (Long press to move the laser pointer farther). Check if the laser pointer points to the area on the material where you want to engrave. If the laser pointer is out of range, adjust the position using the direction keys. The laser pointer automatically points to the area where the engraving takes place (based on the target location on the work area). When the direction key is pressed, the laser pointer moves to the area to be engraved (left, top, right or bottom) from its target location. If the engraving area needs to be adjusted to the left, press key to move the pointer to the left.![]() |
12. After positioning the laser pointer and determining the location of the engraving area, long-press and hold
button (for more than 3 seconds) until it beeps to confirm that the machine is ready to engrave then close the cover.
6. Curved Materials Marking
Scratch on the surface of a curved material is likely to be caused by the tool touching the surface of the material when it moves. This can be avoided by entering the thickness of the material’s surface to set the Z-movement height automatically.
- Create a toolpath then click
button.

- Once “NC Output” window appears, click “Uneven” to see different kinds of curved materials. Select a shape that resembles the shape of the material then enter its thickness (the thickness of the area to which the engraving is applied) then click “Start Engraving” button.

7. Layout of text in a circle
Texts can be arranged around a circle by using circular text object.

Circular Text
Click
button to display “Circular Text” window. Designate direction and angle, enter the size and text, then click “OK” button.

Circular Text- Top/Bottom

Adjusting layout angle
Drag the first character R or last character y in the text to adjust the angle of the layout.
Drag other characters with the mouse to adjust the distance to the center of the circle.

8. Layout of text in a curve
- Click the
Line/Curve button.
- Left-click to display the dotted lines then designate a distance.
Drag the mouse to make a curve appear then right-click to create one.

- Select “No Line” on the “Line and Fill Shape” window on the object property window.

- Click Text Input button then move the mouse cursor to the curve line. The cursor will change to text cursor as shown below.

- When the cursor changes to text, click the curve line then enter the text.

9. Text Change
The content of a text can be changed by using Text Change feature.
Open a saved design sample, file or select the text objects entered on the work area. Click
Text change button or right-click with the mouse then select Text Change on the menu. Or, select Menu → Text → Text change.

Change the content in the “Text Change” window then click “OK” button. The modified text will be shown on the screen.

10. Template Creation
Template is an image that corresponds to the material to be engraved by 1:1 ratio. Load a template similar to the shape of the material to be engraved then enter the text. This allows you to easily and conveniently position your text and determine its size. Templates such as circle, heart, square and diamond are available in the program, and users can freely add more templates. Templates can be created by using graphic programs like Illustrator, Photoshop and CorelDraw, or by loading images in SVG file format, jpeg, bmp, png, etc.
Creating template 1
1. Select [Menu] → [Template] → [Create Template from Image].

2. "Create Template from Image” window will appear.

3. Select the image file (jpeg, bmp, png and etc.) from the “Open” window then click “Open” button.

4. Enter the size of the template. Check “Save” to save the image as a template for later use then enter the file name. Click “OK” button to load the image as a template. The image will be saved as a template in the template library.


Creating template 2
1. Click [Image] button to open an image file.

2. Select [Menu] → [Template] → [Save Selected Object as Template].
Enter a new template name in “Input” window then click “OK” button.

3. The saved template is added to the template library.

The saved template in the “Save Selected Object as Template” menu is saved based on the size designated on the screen. When loading a template, check “Maintain Original Size” so the template will be loaded based on the original size designated when the template was saved.

✽ Templates can be added or deleted. “Add” or “Delete” option can be selected by right-clicking in the template category window.

11. Saving as design sample
Edited texts, contents or designs can be saved as design samples for future use.
Saving as design sample 1
1. Edit contents and select the objects.

2. Click File [Menu] → [Save as Design Sample] then select a folder or create new folder.
Enter the name then click “Save.

Saving as design sample 2
1. Select the objects then click [Design Sample] button. Select a folder from the design sample library window to save the created design.

2. Click [Save selected image as sample] or right-click the design sample image then click “Save Selected as Design Sample” on the menu.

3. Enter the name of the design created then click “OK” button. The design will be saved in the design sample library.

✽ Right-click in the design sample window to see more features. The design sample can be deleted by
right-clicking in the design sample window then select [Delete] on the menu.

12. Auto change of serial number
Use this function when changing numbers by certain unit.
1. Edit the font and size of text object with a number then press “Alt+N” key on a keyboard, or select [Menu] → [Text] → [Serial Number] → [Advance Serial Number] to change the number automatically.

2. Select [Menu] → [Text] → [Serial Number] → [Serial Number Option] then enter a unit from the “Serial Number Auto Advancing Option” to change the serial number based on the assigned unit automatically.

3. If the serial number is not consistent, select [Menu] → [Text] → [Serial Number] → [Load Serial Number].
Enter serial number in the “Lines to export” field or click “Load File” button to load from a file (.txt or .csv file format). Once the serial numbers are loaded, click “Export to object” button. The text on the selected text object is automatically changed, and the serial number is deleted from the list. The deleted numbers will be shown in the “Exported Lines.”

Serial numbers can be loaded from a file separated by a comma (.csv) or text file (.txt).
Each row of the file is recognized as one serial number, and the contents of each row separated by a comma are shown in the next line.

13. Loading and editing image
1) Loading an image
This program provides a function to load various types of image files. Supported image files are as follows.
| BMP | Windows or OS/2’s bitmap graphic file |
| GIF | CompuServe graphic file |
| JPG/JPEG | JPEG bitmap graphic file |
| PNG | Portable Network Graphics bitmap graphic file |
| PCX | Z Soft PC paintbrush bitmap file |
| TIF/TIFF | Tagged Image File Format bitmap file |
| WMF | Windows meta file |
Image file can be loaded through the following methods.
1. Select [Image] on the toolbar or select [Menu] → [Insert] → [Image].

2. When “Open” window appears (as shown in the picture below), select the image to load then click “Open” button.

3. Drag the work area with the mouse to load the image according to desired size.

The machine can only engrave single-color images; not multi-color images. Multi-color images should be converted to single-color (1 bit) image.
2) Converting to single-color image
1. Select the image you want to convert. Click “Convert” button in the image object window then select “Monochrome (1bit).”

Or select the Transform menu → Bitmap → Mode → Monochrome (1bit).

2. When “Color Image to Black & White” window appears, move the slider to adjust the level of color then click “OK” button.

3) Editing image
Loaded image can be edited via “Paint” program in Windows.
Select the image object to be edited then right-click to select “Edit” or, select [Menu] → [Transform] → [Bitmap] → [Edit].

Click [OK] to run Windows Paint program.

Then “Image Edit Notification” will appear.
Once editing is completed, click “Save” from Paint File menu then close the program to apply the changes.
14. Import a file SVG format
MagicEngrave supports vector graphic files in SVG format. If a design is created in programs like Illustrator or CorelDraw, the design can be loaded as long as it is saved as SVG file.
1. Select File menu → Save As from Illustrator program to save a file in SVG format.

2. When SVG option window appears, click “OK” button to save changes.

3. Click [SVG] button to load the SVG file.

4. Or select [Menu] → [File] → [Import…] to import a file.

5. Once the file is imported, click the work area to display the image.




key to move the pointer to the left.














